Scarborough itself dates back to 1654, when it was called Lampsinsburg after the two Dutch brothers who founded it. Under French rule it was renamed Port Louis. It became the capital of Tobago in 1769 when it replaced the then capital of Georgetown, which was some way north up the coast. The House of Assembly was moved to Scarborough, and on the hill above the town Fort King George was built, mostly between 1777 and 1779. Source: http://www.discovertnt.com/articles/Tobago/Discover-Tobago/128/4/9#ixzz3dBBVlmh3
Scarborough is the largest City and capital of the island of Tobago, part of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago. Its population is around 25,530 which is one-third of the population of the island. It's hard to say where Scarborough starts and ends, since the neighboring villages Bacolet , Calder Hall and Morne Quinton are integrated in the city.
The name probably originated from a city in England with the same name. This city in it's turn derived the name probably from an Icelandic saga which tells how two Icelandic Viking brothers called Kormak and Thorgils were the first men to "establish the fort called Skardaborg". So the name originally derives from "the fort belonging to Skardi". These vikings might be happy to know that Scarborough (Bacolet) actually has a fort build.